Covid-19 has made it far more difficult to travel than in the past. In an effort to help you better prepare for what to expect if you’re looking to travel around in the US, this State-by-State list of Covid-19 Restrictions may help you. Today we present the work of insuremytrip.com for more info on this topic.
COVID-19 Pandemic Travel Restrictions By State
For the latest Coronavirus Travel restriction updates be sure to visit insuremytrip.com
InsureMyTrip has aggregated recent data from reliable sources and condensed it into maps, which will be updated as necessary, to reflect the latest restrictions and guidelines for each state.
So, before hitting the road on your next U.S. adventure, check our travel restrictions guide to ensure you know what to expect.
For some states, it appears slightly more complex than simply “do I need to quarantine upon arrival or not?” A significant number of states offer COVID-19 testing in lieu of a mandatory quarantine.
Additionally, many states are implementing mandatory documentation upon arrival and health screening at airports. Read more about which states to expect this in below.
Data below last updated 1/14/2021
|Alaska||Travelers and returning residents must submit a Travel Declaration and Self-Isolation Plan through the state’s travel portal. All passengers must arrive with proof of a negative COVID-19 test. If this is not possible, passengers will be tested upon airport arrival and allowed to proceed after receiving a negative result but must quarantine while awaiting results. The cost of the test is $250 for non-residents but is free for residents. In the instance of an arrival and positive result, passengers will receive medical treatment and are subject to quarantine. As of October 16, the state also requires travelers to social distance for 5 days. While not required, Alaska recommends non-residents get a second test between 5 – 14 days after arrival.|
|California||On November 13, California issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving from another state or prolonged exposure to people outside your household. The government is also encouraging residents to stay local. It should also be noted that starting December 5, regional stay at home orders may be in effect based on ICU capacity. For example, San Francisco and Santa Clara County now require 10-day quarantines for those traveling from outside the immediate area. Additionally Los Angeles County requires out-of-state visitors 16 and older to submit this online form prior to or upon arrival to LAX, Van Nuys Airport, or Union Station. Failure to do so is subject to up to a $500 fine. For more information on specific counties and municipalities, visit California’s official website.|
|Colorado||While there are no statewide travel restrictions, Colorado’s Pitkin County, where ski resort town Aspen is located, set new requirements on December 14. Now, travelers spending one or more nights must fill out a Pitkin County Traveler Affidavit. Additionally, travelers 10 and over are required to produce a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 72 hours of arrival. Visitors also have the option to test once they arrive in Pitkin County but are required to quarantine until results arrive. PCR or NAAT tests are preferred, but antigen tests are also accepted. Travelers without a test must quarantine for 10 days.|
|Connecticut||Passengers must quarantine upon arrival for 10 days and fill out a mandatory form if staying for longer than 24 hours and traveling from any state other than New York, New Jersey, or Rhode Island. Travelers are able to avoid quarantine if they provide written proof of a negative test taken 72 hours before travel. Failure to submit the form or self-quarantine may result in a civil penalty of $500 per violation.|
|District of Columbia||A 14-day quarantine is required if traveling to/from a jurisdiction with more than 10 cases per 100,000 people. Currently there are no states that meet this criteria. Passengers from all states and territories above the threshold are now advised to get a test within 72 hours of traveling. If the test is positive, don’t travel. If you have been in close contact with a confirmed positive case, do not travel. If you are visiting for more than three days, get tested within 3-5 days of arrival. It should also be noted that due to recent events at the U.S. Capitol, additional restrictions are in place to keep people safe before, during, and after the Presidential Inauguration.|
|Hawaii||All passengers traveling to Hawaii are subject to temperature checks and a mandatory 10-day quarantine in a home or hotel room. As of September 1, passengers and returning residents are also required to fill out the new online Safe Travels application. Beginning November 24, Hawaii will require passengers to upload a negative result from a state-approved, FDA-authorized NAAT test, processed by a CLIA certified lab taken prior to departing for the islands in order to bypass the 10-day quarantine. The islands of Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Hawai’i continue with the state’s pre-travel testing program, however, on December 2, Kauai temporarily paused participation in the pre-testing program. However, Hawaii announced that Kauai resumed pre- and post-travel testing program with some modifications on January 5. This program is for visitors who stay in designated “resort bubble” hotels. Travelers must test negative within 72 hours prior to arriving on Kauai, then may freely enjoy resort amenities before testing again 72 hours after their arrival. If the second test is also negative, the traveler will be released from quarantine and can leave the “resort bubble.”|
|Idaho||While Idaho has no statewide travel restrictions, travelers to Boise, Idaho Falls, Twin Falls and some other cities are encouraged to quarantine for 14 days and observe local mandates.|
|Illinois||Illinois has no state-wide travel restrictions, however, an Emergency Travel Order still applies to people entering/returning to the city of Chicago. States and territories are now placed in two categories based on outbreak rates. Orange states have daily case rates greater than 15 per 100,000 people and currently all states except for Hawaii. Travelers from these areas are required to quarantine for 10 days or a negative COVID-19 test result upon arrival. Yellow states have daily case rates under 15 per 100,000, which only includes Hawaii at this time. Travelers from yellow states and territories are not required to quarantine or provide test results but strict social distancing remains in place.|
|Kansas||Anyone who has traveled to or attended an out-of-state mass gathering event of 500 or more people where individuals did not socially distance (6 feet) and wear masks is recommended to quarantine for 14 days upon entering or returning to Kansas. Those who have been on a sea or river cruise since March 15 or had close contact with a laboratory-confirmed case are also instructed to quarantine for 14 days. Kansas recently updated their quarantine guidelines with shortened time periods, so shorter quarantine is possible with proper testing. In general, travelers must quarantine from 7 to 10 days, depending upon whether or not they get tested on the sixth day of their quarantine. Those who receive a negative result after testing on their sixth day will be released from quarantine on the eighth day rather than the eleventh day. See the press release for full details.|
|Kentucky||On December 14, 2020, the Kentucky Department for Public Health (KDPH) revised its travel guidance to discourage all out-of-state leisure travel until further notice.|
|Maine||All passengers are subject to mandatory 10-day quarantine, unless a negative COVID-19 antigen or molecular (PCR, NAAT, or isothermal) test is collected no more than 72 hours prior to arrival. Antibody tests are not accepted in lieu of quarantine. Residents of Vermont and New Hampshire are allowed to enter without restriction. As of November 4, Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York are no longer exempt. As of November 16, Massachusetts is no longer exempt. Travelers from all other states and territories must sign a Certificate of Compliance, which indicates a negative COVID-19 test result, commitment to quarantine in Maine for 10 days, or that quarantine in Maine was completed. It should also be noted that Maine CDC recommends that Mainers cancel or postpone all travel until further notice.|
|Maryland||Any Marylander returning from out-of-state or any out-of-state traveler should either get tested for COVID-19 promptly upon arrival in Maryland or within 72 hours before travel to Maryland. Any Marylander who travels to a state with a COVID-19 test positivity rate above 10 percent or with a case rate over 20 per 100,000 in the past 7 days should get tested and self-quarantine at home until the test result is received. The District of Columbia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia are exempt from this recommendation.|
|Massachusetts||All passengers except those from low risk states, must fill out health form and quarantine for 10 days. Currently, low risk states include only Hawaii. Quarantine is not required if travelers produce a negative COVID-19 test result that has been administered up to 72-hours prior to arrival. Those awaiting test results must quarantine until a negative result is received. Failure to fill out the form may result in a $500 fine per day.|
|Minnesota||Out of state travel is highly discouraged. Incoming visitors and residents that travel out-of-state are asked to quarantine for 14 days upon entry (or reentry) to Minnesota.|
|New Hampshire||All travelers and residents visiting or returning to New Hampshire from a state other than Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, or Vermont must quarantine for 10 days. If the person is asymptomatic and has a negative PCR test on or after day 7 of quarantining, they may shorten or end their quarantine. This 7-day “test out” of travel quarantine option only applies to travel-related quarantine, not quarantine due to other types of exposure.|
|New Jersey||As of November 25, New Jersey will no longer utilize previously outlined metrics to inform its travel advisory. Travelers and residents are now subject quarantine for 10 days if arriving from any state beyond the immediate region (Connecticut, Delaware, New York, and Pennsylvania). Travelers are encouraged to fill out the voluntary online survey prior to arriving. Overall, the state discourages travel but if unavoidable, travelers should get tested 1-3 days before the trip and again 3-5 days after the trip. If travelers test positive during that time, they should self-isolate for at least 10 days. If travelers test negative, they should still quarantine for a full 7 days after travel. If testing is not available or results are delayed, travelers should quarantine for 10 days after travel.|
|New Mexico||Upon arrival, travelers must quarantine for 14 days or for the length of their stay, whichever is shorter, unless traveling from a low-risk state. Currently, there are no states that meet the low-risk state criteria. As of October 16, New Mexico will no longer exempt travelers from high-risk states from quarantine, even if they can provide documentation of a valid negative COVID-19 test administered within the 72 hours before arriving. This is due to a recent increase in infections as well as missed criteria for reopening. Many travel restrictions in New Mexico are now enforced at the county level, so be sure to check your specific destinations for local restrictions before you go.|
|New York||Travelers arriving from states other than border states (Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Vermont) are required to fill out a Traveler Health Form. This form uses traveler information to determine if a 10-day precautionary quarantine is required. In general, most travelers must quarantine for 10 days if staying in the state for more than 24 hours and coming from a non-border state. Fines up to $10,000 may be assessed for travelers who fail to complete the health form. As of November 4, New York now allows travelers to test out of the quarantine requirement if they meet the following criteria: Travelers must obtain a test within three days of departure from that state. Travelers must, upon arrival in New York, quarantine for three days. On day four of their quarantine, the traveler must obtain another COVID test. If both tests comes back negative, the traveler may exit quarantine early upon receipt of the second negative test result.|
|Ohio||Travelers coming from high risk areas are advised to self quarantine for 14 days. High risk is defined by states reporting positive testing rates of 15% or higher based on a 7-day average. Those states currently are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Virginia. Wyoming and Mississippi are experiencing reporting irregularities, so it is possible that these states could exceed the 15% positivity rate especially due to recent holiday travel.|
|Oregon||On November 13, Oregon issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving from another state. The government is also encouraging residents to stay local and “freeze” orders are in place for some jurisdictions.|
|Pennsylvania||As of December 17, travelers entering Pennsylvania from other countries and states, as well as Pennsylvanians who are returning, must provide a negative COVID-19 test result taken within 72 hours prior to arriving or quarantine for 10 days upon entry into Pennsylvania. If a traveler chooses to get tested upon entry, or is waiting for test results, the traveler must quarantine for 10 days, or until receipt of a negative test result, whichever comes first.|
|Rhode Island||Out-of-state visitors are required to complete a certificate of compliance and an out-of-state travel screening form. Travelers from states where positivity rates are higher than 5% are required to self-quarantine for two weeks or provide negative results from a test taken within 72 hours before arrival. Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Effective December 10, anyone who has been in close contact with someone with COVID-19 must quarantine for 10 days from their last known exposure. You may shorten quarantine to 7 days if you have a negative result from a test taken at least 5 days after you were exposed.|
|Vermont||Effective on November 10, Vermont has suspended its leisure travel map and implemented a mandatory quarantine for anyone returning or traveling to Vermont. Travelers arriving to Vermont who have not completed a pre-arrival quarantine must complete either a 14-day quarantine or a 7-day quarantine followed by a negative test in a Vermont lodging establishment or with friends and family. Additionally, all out-of-state travelers who plan to stay in lodging, campgrounds, and short-term rental properties must sign and complete a certificate of compliance.|
|Washington||On November 13, Washington issued a travel advisory urging visitors entering the state or returning home from travel outside the state to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus. Non-essential out-of-state travel is discouraged, and the state is asking people to self-quarantine for 14 days after arriving from another state. The government is also encouraging residents to stay local.|
Traveling Safely During the Pandemic
If you do plan on traveling during the pandemic, be sure to take the necessary precautions to ensure the safety of yourself and others around you. We recommend the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention’s (CDC) comprehensive guide to traveling safely during the pandemic.
U.S. State Sources for COVID-19 Travel Restrictions
This guidance of United States Pandemic Travel Restrictions by State is provided for informational and educational purposes only. It is intended to offer travelers guidance regarding domestic travel. The information in this article reflects the most up-to-date information available at the time of publication. Due to the developing situation and lack of uniform reporting methods between states, some information may not be current. Please check the official state website of any state you plan to travel to/through for the most accurate information at the time of travel.